That's because there's nothing in the context of the show to flatter. They're just incompetent to handle the problems in the show, so they're shown as such.

If the show was about how they solved their own crimes in their jurisdiction, maybe.

Why does incompetent have to equal clownish? Rinko's boss blowing his snot across the room and clipping his toenails on the desk is going beyond "displaying incompetence in fighting Phantoms".

1. It's not clownish. Rather, I'm not sure, I'm not an expert on clowns.
2. As NeonZ said, the entire tone of the show is like that.
3. It's not even the least incomprehensible for normal people to blow their snot like that or clip toenails behind the desk. But kids, remember, there's a reason why these guys are not your heroes.

Lurker
They better make the shoes and bullets available for defense forces to use.... Oh wait, let's endanger more lives! Yeah, bite me <_<

A simple passerby...
I love Kuuga. A LOT. The problem you guys are tackling just isn't going to be solved though. We're in an era where, I'd say partially due to the Den-O bloom, things happening in a Rider series is pretty much being handled with jokes half the time.

Even Kiva, which was supposed to be about Fangire Hunters pretty much didn't do **** with the Organisation which had what, 3 members in it?

Kuuga and Agito's level of police involvement and seriousness died the day they decided they didn't need to make it serious anymore.