Thanks to the new trailer (and release date), The Last Of Us Part II is on everyone’s mind. Whether it was timed this way or not, it’s the perfect opportunity for Materia Collective to release a remix soundtrack album of the original’s music (originally created by Gustavo Santaolalla). The Last of Us Remixed contains covers composed by Taylor Ambrosio Wood, who’s created soundtracks for a few indie games.

The Last of Us is the most emotionally effective game soundtrack of the last decade, and arguably one of the greatest videogame soundtracks of all time,” says Wood. “We are extraordinarily passionate about Santaolalla’s work, and as fans of his ourselves, we were personally invested in creating a beautiful and respectful tribute to this amazing soundtrack. This album aims to enter the world of The Last of Us from an adjacent perspective, while still maintaining the emotional core of what made the original soundtrack so monumental.”

01. Ash and Dust (The Last of Us)
02. All Gone (Seasons)
03. The Quarantine Zone
04. Vanishing Grace
05. Forgotten Memories
06. Left Behind
07. The Choice
08. All Gone
09. Home…
10. The Last of Us (Goodnight)
11. The Path

“I wanted to take the theme and write lyrics that were representative of the narrative themes from The Last of Us,” continues Wood. “I tried to imagine how it would feel to live in a world like that, and write from the perspective of someone trying to reconcile their existence in a dead and broken world. Maybe they would find solace in knowing that in the end, we will all be ash and dust.”

The Last Of Us Remixed also contains tracks performed by the Videri String Quartet, and arrangements by Ariel Contreras-Esquivel, Amanda Laven, and Michael Hoffmann. The album is available now on the storefronts linked to from this page.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.