If you ever planned to check out Square Enix’s The Last Remnant, I hope you already did so. Square just removed all digital forms of the game from sale as of today.

The company did not reveal the motivation behind the removal, and they only gave a day’s advance warning before taking the title off Steam at 10 AM this morning:

Hi everyone,

We will soon be discontinuing digital and physical sales of The Last Remnant on PC.

Sales will cease at the times below:-

Japan region: Wednesday 5th September, approximately 2:00 (JST)
NA region: Tuesday 4th September, approximately 10:00(PDT)
EU region: Tuesday 4th September, approximately 17:00(GMT)

Anyone already owning the game will still be able to play as per usual.

Thanks to everyone who’s adventured with the Mitras, Yamas, Qsitis and Sovanis!

Ordinarily, when a game ceases to exist like this, there’s a clear reason. The critically praised brawler based on Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World vanished from the marketplace because the movie tie-in was no longer necessary. Sony’s port of the Simpsons arcade game wasn’t sold for very long before the license to the property expired. And Hideo Kojima’s P.T. no longer exists because Konami are a bunch of buttheads.

But in the case of The Last Remnant, Square owns everything about it: the IP, the characters, the game code. They could keep this game up as long as they wanted….so why did they take it down?

Square won’t say. The Last Remnant received middle-of-the-road reviews, so it’s not like we’re losing Chrono Trigger here, but it’s still disturbing how the digital format allows for games to be “taken back” by their publisher, possibly never to be seen again.

Despite its delisting, anyone who previously bought The Last Remnant on Steam will still be able to download it.