In 2014 Scarlet Moon Records released Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies, a remix compilation of some of game-dome’s most relaxing melodies, re-rendered in smooth saxophone-heavy jazz. The band responsible was GENTLE LOVE, a duo consisting of  composer Norihiko Hibino (Metal Gear Solid/Bayonetta) and pianist AYAKI (Etrian Odyssey/PersonaQ). The CD was a big success and if you missed your first chance, it’s coming back.

When you think of relaxing video game tunes, tracks like Donkey Kong Country’s underwater theme and Super Mario 64’s “water” song come to mind. They’re both here, along with many others. This release contains two additional bonus tracks: “Fisherman’s Horizon” from Final Fantasy VIII and an original composition by GENTLE LOVE titled “He Chose You.”

01. Lifestream (Final Fantasy VII)
02. Dire, Dire Docks (Super Mario 64)
03. Song of the Ancients (NieR)
04. Lost Painting (Castlevania: Symphony of the Night)
05. Maiden in Black (Demon’s Souls)
06. Main Theme (Genso Suikoden)
07. Singing Emotion (Chrono Cross)
08. A Wish… (Secret of Mana)
09. Auriel’s Ascension (The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion)
10. Aquatic Ambiance (Donkey Kong Country)
11. Fisherman’s Horizon (Final Fantasy VIII) [Bonus]
12. He Chose You (Original) [Bonus]

“It’s a wonderful feeling to be able to circle back around and give new life to the original album that started it all,” explains Scarlet Moon producer Jayson Napolitano. “We’ve already got the next volume recorded, and we’re currently mastering it and putting together artwork and other materials for a physical release, so please stay tuned for more information in the coming weeks and months!”

Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Vol. 1 is available now on iTunes, Bandcamp and Spotify. It should be noted that this is a Remastered Version with some slight rearrangements, so if what you want is the intact untouched original, you’ll have to check eBay instead.

Prescription for Sleep