If it’s been a stressful week, relax and recharge with Shovel Knight. The blue-armored, garden-tool-wielding hero is the subject of the eighth album in the Prescription For Sleep series, a string of soft, lullaby-style renditions of popular video game tunes.

The album spans 19 tracks covering not only the original game but all its DLC including the new King of Cards spinoff. There’s also an original composition, “A New Dawn,” created by jazz band GENTLE LOVE (comprised of Metal Gear Solid and Bayonetta series composer Norihiko Hibino on saxophone and Etrian Odyssey performer AYAKI on piano).

“I’ve been wanting to produce this album for a long time,” says album producer Jayson Napolitano. “With King of Cards due out next week, the time is now, and we’re especially pleased to share our longest album to date with a beautiful physical edition that I personally can’t wait to get my hands on.”

01. Steel Thy Shovel

02. Strike the Earth!

03. High Above the Land

04. An Underlying Problem

05. No Weapons Here

06. Of Devious Machinations

07. The Donor’s Despair

08. The Requiem for Shield Knight

09. A Cool Reception

10. End of Days

11. The Fateful Return

12. The Alchemist’s Haven

13. Waltz for One


15. Magic Mirror

16. La Danse Macabre

17. Cruise Control

18. Troops, Form Up!

19. Some Blasted Hill

20. A New Dawn

While you can get Prescription For Sleep: Shovel Knight digitally, there is also a CD available that contains two discs of music, four custom die-cut character stickers, a 20-page booklet with interviews and commentary, three Shovel Knight comics by artist Maximo Vitaly Lorenzo, and a cover printed with silver foil. Only a thousand of these will be made, and when they’re gone, they’re outta here.

Prescription For Sleep: Shovel Knight is available now from Scarlet Moon Records.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.