Star Trek: The Next Generation Discussion Thread

Read my smart post
Not sure how many Trekkies are on here, but I just started watching TNG (thanks Netflix!) and thought I would start a thread to talk about it

I'm 16 episodes in, and it's rough so far, everyone I've talked to said the first season sucks, so i'm sticking with it hoping things pick up. I've only seen 6 or 7 episodes of the TOS and the first 4 movies (Bones for life yo!), so i'm not an expert on the Star Trek Universe

One thing I wanted to ask about, I saw a documentary Gene Roddenberry's son did about his dad, and it was heavily implied that the reason the beginning of the show was so bad was because Gene Roddenberry was a strong influence on the show. He wouldn't allow the characters on the show to have conflict, he limited the subject matter, etc. So when he died the writers got more freedom and the show got better

So basically, did TNG suck in the beginning because Gene Roddenberry was too involved?

In my opinion it tried to recreate the magic of TOS in the early seasons. They used a lot of plots from the proposed second phase of TOS and it didn't quite translate as well. And like a lot of shows it was finding itself in the first two seasons. Teething problems are to be expected.

Stick with it though. There will come a point when you can stop watching haha!

The Ranger with the Cowbell
So basically, did TNG suck in the beginning because Gene Roddenberry was too involved?

Yes. Once Gene died people were able to actually create drama that wasn't so forced or created by an entity. People could act human for once.

Treasure Cards of the Underworld
Well, there's a reason TNG is the Trope Namer for "Growing the Beard" on TV Tropes. :V Just stick with it, around the time Riker has his awesome beard, things really start picking up more-so.

It's Judgement Time!