[DISCUSSION] CREATING A TOKUSATSU SERIES: A Request

Possessor of the "Final Zero!"
Hey fellow RPers and Toku fans. I am interested in writing a Tokusatsu series that combines Super Sentai and Kamen Rider but changes the names and origin. The story will bear influences from Heroes, Metal Gear Solid, Karas, and Kamen Rider W.

Yet, my biggest problem is: How to write a Tokusatsu series?! Would anyone care to teach me and help me develop this series?

I want to start this off by saying that while I do a lot of writing on my own I am not a professional just yet, and so I am not really the person to go to for teaching anything. I just got to thinking, and figured I could reply and we would talk it out and maybe you would get somewhere. And maybe I'll get some insight that will help further my own current efforts.

Anyway, first and foremost, I would say, you need to think about your feel and your premise. Those will inform the rest of the project. Well, actually, first off I would say you should consider and maybe list all of the concepts that make you want to do this at all. What characters move you, what type of world do you want to explore, or what scenes do you just have to include somewhere? Thinking about those will help frame the rest of the story, as you will be putting together a world to let you use those ideas.

Back to tone and concept, though. Decide whether you want a humorous story, a dark one, high adventure, or whatever. And decide on themes. We already have part of the concept in that its a team of transforming superheroes, right? Well, what makes them transform: magic, science, biology, or something else? What kinds of things is the armor based on, and what about the monsters? This is important because it helps tie the setting together. Den-O had all that stuff with the trains, Kiva had those monsters, etc. You can expand out from there to ask what sort of world would contain these things, or come to them by deciding on the world.